A trillion little bits of distracting noise

Image

“This was what was keeping me awake at night,” Walter said. “This fragmentation. Because it’s the same problem everywhere. It’s like the internet, or cable TV – there’s never any center, there’s no communal agreement, there’s just a trillion little bits of distracting noise. We can never sit down and have any kind of sustained conversation, it’s all just cheap trash and shitty development. All the real things, the authentic things, the honest things are dying off. Intellectually and culturally, we just bounce around like random billiard balls, reacting to the latest random stimuli.” — Jonathan Franzen, Freedom

31 responses to “A trillion little bits of distracting noise

  1. Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i
    subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.

    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  2. Fantastic site. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few buddies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you in your effort!

  3. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web
    site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I
    achievement you access consistently quickly.

  4. Right away I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my
    breakfast coming yet again to read additional news.

  5. Your style is so unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess
    I’ll just bookmark this site.

  6. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my blog
    not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  7. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months
    of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  8. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your
    favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest factor to
    remember of. I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same
    time as folks think about concerns that they plainly don’t understand about.

    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects , other
    people can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more.
    Thank you

  9. Hiya! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My site looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone.

    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be
    able to correct this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Many thanks!

  10. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m
    still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for rookie blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  11. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re simply
    extremely wonderful. I really like what you have
    got here, really like what you’re stating and the best way wherein you assert it.
    You are making it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep
    it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you.
    This is really a wonderful site.

  12. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours today, but I by no means found any fascinating article like yours.

    It’s beautiful price enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the internet might be a lot more helpful than ever
    before.

  13. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.
    I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.

    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my
    own, personal blog now 😉

  14. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he
    should also go to see this weblog on regular basis to get updated from newest news update.

  15. I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.