“People never notice anything”

I’m not completely sure how old I was when I read The Catcher In the Rye. It was somewhere between the ages of 18 – 21.

I wouldn’t list it as my favourite book of all time, although I know many do. I just wanted to read it to see what all the fuss was about.

Hearing of JD Salinger’s death, I tried to remember when I’d read it. And despite that exact knowledge escaping my memory, what I am struck by is how well I remember Holden Caulfield.

I have decided that I definitely need to revisit the book, so a re read is on the cards once my current work deadline has been reached and the pressure I’m under now has eased.

I could also remember the gist of one of favourite quotes from the book, so I thought I’d look it up and share;

What I was really hanging around for, I was trying to feel some kind of a goodbye. I mean I’ve left schools and places I didn’t even know I was leaving them. I hate that. I don’t care if it’s a sad goodbye or a bad goodbye, but when I leave a place I like to know I’m leaving it. If you don’t, you feel even worse. – JD Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

I am very sorely tempted to go dig my copy out and start reading now. Alas, duty calls.

RIP Salinger.


One response to ““People never notice anything”

  1. I heard as well. Oddly, I just had bought the book several months ago since I have never had the chance to read. Now its a must! Happy reading.

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

