Emails from a past life

Image via pinterest

In an attempt to clean up my inbox I have been unsubscribing from emails that no longer serve me or that I no longer read. Rather than go through and do this in one big sweep, which would be too time consuming, and, let’s face it, boring, I have been unsubscribing from a few each day as they come in.

Today, being Wednesday, meant that I got an email from my local cinema, letting me know which movies are out tomorrow.

Now, I haven’t been to the movies since 2009, when I saw Inglourious Basterds (no way was I missing big-screen Tarantino). It’s just one of those things that has been pushed aside now that I have two kids, and both time and money are limited.

Sure I still see films, mostly now on blu-ray.

But, I miss it. The cinema-glow. The magic of the movies.

Once upon a time, I wouldn’t need that email to tell me what was out that week, because I would already know. And if it was a film I wanted to see, I had it marked in my diary. If I anticipated that it may be a little busy on opening night, I would’ve pre-bought my tickets.

Now I get the email and wonder how long until certain films are released on blu-ray.

I toyed with the idea of unsubscribing, ditching the weekly reminder of who I once was.

But honestly? I’m still that person.

I still love movies.

I just don’t see near as many as I’d like to.

So, the email subscription stays.

Add it to my goals for 2012 – see, at the very least, one movie at the cinema this year.

And see more films in general.

Are you a movie geek like me? Do you get the time to see all the movies you want? Or do you have another hobby or interest that has fallen by the wayside as you got older?

4 responses to “Emails from a past life

  1. Pingback: Thankful Thursday – list of gratitude from last year « The Very Same·

  2. Quite right – one day you will get back there! We spend a fortune on Sky because I can’t bear to miss anything, though if I go to the cinema it is usually to see something like Alvin and the Chipmunks nowadays! Visiting via Flog Yo Blog x

    • Yes, I’m quite looking forward to going to the movies again 🙂 Thanks for visiting.

  3. Pingback: Re-igniting Cinema Love « Happylan·

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

