Fresh Horses – Words

For this week’s fresh horses, Eden has asked us to tell her something we would share if there were an open mic at a birthday party.

I must thank you Eden, because by setting the task of finding some words to share, I have spent ages tonight swimming in beautiful words, and remembering how much I love doing just that. I have rediscovered some old favourites that made my heart ache with the remembering, and I have stumbled across some new stuff that stroked my hair and sang sweetly to my soul.

Choosing one piece of writing, one song, one speech, one poem – it has been a hard task.

But at last I chose this;

JOY – Carl Sandburg

LET a joy keep you.
Reach out your hands
And take it when it runs by,
As the Apache dancer
Clutches his woman.
I have seen them
Live long and laugh loud,
Sent on singing, singing,
Smashed to the heart
Under the ribs
With a terrible love.
Joy always,
Joy everywhere–
Let joy kill you!
Keep away from the little deaths.

There are many other words I would have liked to share, some were just too long for this space, at this time. I would be too self conscious to read them out, I would be worried I would be hogging the mic.

But the Sandburg poem, that I carefully copied from a library book into my notebook in the public library almost 10 years ago, it fits. Short and sweet so that I wouldn’t be in the spotlight for long and hopefully wouldn’t trip over the words.

And it speaks of joy, which is my wish for the birthday girl.

Happy Birthday Eden. Wishing you peace, love,

and

oh so much

Joy.

Edenland's Fresh Horses Brigade

6 responses to “Fresh Horses – Words

  1. I needed to be reminded how much I love swimming in beautiful words too. There was a time when I just did it without thinking.

  2. Wonderful Alana! Simply wonderful! I knew Sandburg was good (I’ve got a book of his poems on my shelf!), but I have never seen this one. Or maybe I didn’t look hard enough? (Off to find it!). What lovely words – your for Eden, as well as your choice of poem. x

    • Thanks so much Deb. I discovered Sandburg years ago but re-discovered him last night. A couple of his poems absolutely crush me.

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

