Which path leads to the dead end? And when should I start walking?

 

The question I keep asking myself lately is “So what am I doing?”

 

I keep asking myself “So when are you going back to work?”

When somebody else asks me that question I am quick to answer “Not yet,” in a way that makes it clear that no further questioning is wanted.

But I cannot fob myself off quite that easy.

I am enjoying blogging at the moment and I enjoy learning about the possible ways in which you can make an income from blogging, but I don’t think this blog is quite cut out for that. I like my little corner of the world, but am unsure if there is anything unique enough about it to make money from it, and also I quite like being able to write about whatever I want, or not write for a few days without it affecting my bank balance. At the moment at least, blogging for me is an outlet and a source of connection with other people, especially on days when I may not have much chance for adult conversation.

I have a few ideas for different niche blogs I could pursue, but again, are these ideas as good as I think they are?

I have thought about trying to find some freelance editing, writing, proofreading work, and building that into a business. I mean after all, it is what i’m trained for and I do enjoy it. But I get overwhelmed with the details, tax issues, finding clients.

I have thought of the possibility of returning to study, perhaps getting into education, sharing my love of words with the next generation through teaching English.

I have thought about my love of typography and the possibility of doing some kind of design course, I’m sure I would enjoy the learning, but will I be good enough for it to take me anywhere?

I have thought of returning to the old constant, retail, just to add a little extra to our family’s income.

I have thought about this upside down and inside out.

I have thought about all the time I am wasting not being present with my kids while I worry about this.

And it hits me.

I’m 30 years old and I still haven’t decided what I want to be when I grow up.

 

Still I guess, it’s nice to have options.

I know some people feel they have no choice when it comes to working.

Me? I want to follow my dreams, the big ones and the small ones too.

If it doesn’t work out, I won’t have that lingering ‘What if?’

Which path I will take I am really not sure.

I know I just need to pick one and start walking.

Are you happy with the path you are on? What would you pursue if you knew for sure it would work out?

4 responses to “Which path leads to the dead end? And when should I start walking?

  1. I wouldn’t put to muc stock into what other people think, your always going to find someone that will criticise and judge regardless. If you have a passion for something pursue it. there is no point in just settling, believe me I know. it’s taken me 10 years by I finally have a job that I love doing and although it may not be my dream job, it’s the field that I love and relate to- and well it’s the only thing I have ever been good at! only you know when the time will be right and when that time comes nothing will stop you.

    • Wise words, Kaino, Thank you. I am so glad you are loving your job, hopefully one day I can say the same – and I plan to keep on looking and learning and trying until I can.

  2. You have some great options there, lucky you. I don’t really think there is just one answer – what to do. You need to do what is good for you and your family, in the spot you are in right now, happiness wise, money wise, convenient wise.

    • I know, I know! I just have to start something instead of all this dithering right?

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

