Re-igniting Cinema Love

Yesterday Joe and I went to see The Avengers.

Earlier in the year I lamented about the lack of movies I get to see, especially at the cinema. After writing it I vowed to see at least one on the big screen, and if it turns out to be only one (although there are a few more I hope to get to) I am glad it was The Avengers.

Edgar Wright wrote on Twitter  ” ‘The Avengers’ is a big tub of popcorn heaven. A huge grin on my face throughout and much applause from the crowd too. Well done Mr. Whedon.” I couldn’t agree more and am having time coming up with a more apt description of the film.

As a Marvel fan, I am completely happy with the potrayal of the characters involved. I can’t fault any of the main cast’s performances. It was fun, it was funny, it was action-packed and it was exactly what I needed.

So I am Thankful.

Thankful to my mum for watching the kids for us so that Joe and I could go together. (We had originally planned to go separately, we both wanted to see it that much! )

Thankful for getting a car park not too far away.

Thankful that when we walked in the door to an announcement from a Cinema employee stating that the session we were going to was sold out, I was holding in my hand tickets Joe had bought on Monday. (Take that eye-rolling ticket girl!)

Thankful that in a packed cinema we were lucky to happen upon possibly the last two vacant seats next to each other left, and that they weren’t in the neck-ache section.

Thankful that the movie rocked!

Thankful to be able to dissect the movie with my beautiful Joe.

Thankful that the kids behaved for their Grandma.

and thankful I was able to top-off the day with another great episode of Game of Thrones.

Do you think comic book movies are a bit of a joke? That’s OK, different strokes and all that. But let the not-too-shabby-looking Tom Hiddleston try and persuade you otherwise;  Superhero Movies like Avengers Assemble Should not be Scorned 

(Avengers Assemble is the movie’s UK title)

Do you like comic books? Or movies? Or comic book movies?

What are you grateful for this week?

Linking up with Kate at Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday. Today she reveals what that big secret project from last week is – well worth a look.

Also linking up with Bron from Maxabella Loves for 52 weeks of Grateful over at Kidspot, who is talking about one of my favourite words in the whole universe.

And today, I’m linking up with Glowless for her final week as hostess of Flog Yo Blog Friday.  As of next week, this link-up will have a brand new home. Glowless reveals who in a very graceful vlog. Go see!

35 responses to “Re-igniting Cinema Love

  1. I like them all… tragic I am!
    But I’m thankful that our cinema lets us book our seats when we purchase our tickets! Now that’s win! 😉
    Just need to put The Avengers on our list to see! 🙂

    • Booking your seats? Now that’s awesome! Definitely put The Avengers on your list 🙂

  2. I love that you wanted to see the movie, went to see it and then enjoyed it so much. Sometimes when you are really looking forward to a movie, it tends to be disappointing.

    When something is supposed to happen everything aligns – and that was just meant to be for you and Joe !

    Have a great day and thanks for popping by my blog !
    Me

    • I know what you mean, so glad it lived up to the hype. And I completely agree with you about everything aligning as it was meant to. You have a great day too!

  3. That’s lovely to read. Wishing you and Josh many more great cinema experiences!
    We saw The Avengers preview in the US, I’m sure it’s great. 🙂

  4. We are not huge movie fans, and so hardly even know what’s on!
    When you say Mr Whedon though, are you talking about Joss Whedon? The creator of Buffy, Angel and Firefly?

  5. I love that you loved it! Isn’t Joss Whedon just flipping awesome? I was so happy with where he took Captain America (I was a bit underwhelmed by his movie), he made him into a man. So funny, so touching at times, so much excellent action. I just want more!

    • I want more too! And good point about Cap. I was disappointed in his movie too, he is infinitely better in this.

  6. I’m off to see it tonight while grandma watches the boys! I’m a wee bit excited first movie we get to see in 3 years hahaha!

  7. My husband loves movies like that. Since i had kids the main types of movies i watch are the funny feel good ones and i dont think ill ever grow out of the love of vampire movies lol I must say i do want to watch the avengers though, apart from the creator it sounds good.

    • Ooh I like a good vampire flick now and then too! The best I’ve seen in that category was ‘Let the Right One In’

  8. I filled out a survey not so long ago and it was asking me to estimate as best as i could how many times I’d been to the cinema in the last 6 months. I didn’t even have to think about it – 0! Good on you for making it!

  9. Hi there…before I say anything ..this site is amazing. Love it. I haven’t been to the cinema for a while, and i mostly go along (or with grandkids) .Sorry, A, but this movie is not my genre but I am going to try to get to the oldies one where they travel to India. Cool in my own way, Denyse x

    • Thanks for the compliments on my site Denyse, you’ve made me smile. Life would be boring if everyone loved the same movies. That said – ‘the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel’ doesn’t look too bad either – I love Maggie Smith and Bill Nighy. I love a wide variety of movies! 🙂

  10. Great that you enjoyed the movie, I heard a review of it on a UK radio show which was absolutely glowing. Not my usual thing but would enjoy later on DVD. I’ve got a wee list of moves to see and I AM going to get there!!

    • I will be watching it again when it comes out on DVD! Truly loved it! Hope you get to all the movies you want to see too.:)

  11. Hey lovely! Just posting this comment as a test, to see if your unchecking boxes did the trick. If so, I’ll post the longer comment I tried to submit yesterday. Here goes…

  12. WooHOO! It worked! Yay YOU! Thanks so much.
    Anyhoo, what I was going to say was: glad to hear you had such a fantastic date. There’s nothing better than a bit of escapism. And good on you for planning ahead: things like missing out on tickets or dud seats can totally ruin the experience, and date nights are too precious for that.
    I also wanted to share that I LOVE graphic novels. All time fave would have to be Persepolis. Recently, I enjoyed Blacksad and Dotter of her Father’s Eyes, but for very different reasons.
    Thanks again for tweaking your comments settings so I could share. xx

    • Yay!! You’re here 🙂 Yes, I am so happy we bought the tickets early.
      I haven’t read a graphic novel for ages (currently collecting ‘Fatale’ series by each issue.) but I will definitely check out the titles you mention, haven’t read any of them!
      So glad you were finally able to comment 🙂

  13. Hello Happylan! My husband and I are keen to see the Avengers. I am not a comic book fan but I did love Iron Man (and Robert Downey Jr) so I’m keen to see this one on the big screen. My husband and his brother are comic book and Star Trek geeks … they are both in the comic book business …. I don’t get it, but I do appreciate that others do 🙂

    • RDJ is very good as Iron Man. Your hubby is lucky to have a business related to his (geeky) interests. Very jealous!

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

