Of Dreams

When I was twelve I wrote my dreams on a single sheet of feint-ruled, loose-leaf foolscap paper, folded it up neatly and placed it safely into my small blue shoebox of treasures, patiently waiting for them to come true.

Unfortunately, try as I might to locate this artifact, it has been misplaced along the way (along with other parts of me.)

When I wrote it the future stretched on and on in my mind. Of course these things would be fulfilled. I had forever.

I believe my list included such things as swimming with dolphins, having a “great career” and releasing a hit CD!

For the record, these things no longer feature among my greatest aspirations, I have grown-up, and so have my dreams.

So what are my big dreams?

I feel so fortunate to have found my soulmate and to have two beautiful children, really, that’s a pretty big dream-life right there I reckon. All the rest is icing and sprinkles. But who doesn’t love sprinkles?

I have many, many dreams… here are five of the big ones…

I want to write – I want to write fiction and have it published, maybe a novel, or a book of short stories, or just something with my name on it sitting on a bookstore shelf that I can be proud of. I want to do this while there are still actual books, sitting on actual shelves, in actual bookstores. So I’d best get hopping right?

I want to travel – all over the world, seeing amazing things and just being in foreign lands. I have never been overseas. Not even Tasmania. I would like to go to Tassie though. My top five cities I want to visit are: 1.Paris  2.New York City  3.Oslo 4.London  5.Tokyo but in all honesty I want to visit so many more places than those.

I want to build a home that is ours just ours. Including in it all the things that we really love and a big space for family to gather for years to come. And a dishwasher. Please.

I want to make money from doing something that I love, and if possible I’d like that work to be beside my husband. I know that he doesn’t love his job, we have worked together before – we make a great team, and I would love to spend more time with him. I’d love to find something that lights me up instead of just taking whatever position I can get. And I’d love to build something together with Joe. Now just to work out what exactly.

I want my own car and to preferably be a more confident driver.

There is part of me that feels a bit guilty about wanting these things, but if I don’t put my dreams out there – who is going to dream them for me? I am grateful for the wonderful things I already have in my life, truly. And these dreams, I believe they are all reachable. Although there is a little more urgency to them than there was when I was 12.

So instead of writing them on loose-leaf paper and hiding them in a box, I am writing them here, and entrusting you who is reading this, with my dreams.

While I do my best to make them come true.

Share your dreams with me, big or small.

They are all important.

Thanks to Bianca at Bigwords for the prompt, writing down my dreams as part of the Me-Pledge. Why not head over and find out what it’s all about, and join in.


6 responses to “Of Dreams

  1. What a wonderful list of aspirations. I sincerely believe you can achieve them – GO FOR IT!! Thanks so much for taking part xx

  2. Alana, I love this post so much. Your first few paragraphs read like so smoothly (like a dream!). I know you can achieve your list. Especially point 1! You are a wonderful writer. And like you said – you’ve put this out there now – which is the biggest step you could make. I wait with anticipation! 🙂

    • Thanks so much Deb, a compliment on my writing is huge coming from you as I admire your writing greatly. It feels good to have put them out there, although now they are staring at my from the screen as if to say “Now what are you going to do about it?” 🙂

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

