Soulmates

I was 2 years old when my soulmate entered the world.

I wonder if on some level, I felt it. If I was going about my day, doing toddler things, and somewhere in the corner of my mind, in my soul, I felt myself relax a little: he’s here. He made it. It’s going to be OK.

I didn’t know he was so close the whole time though, living only 30 minutes away from me, in a town I visited often.

I wonder how many times our paths may have crossed; the same footpaths walked, the same book picked up and looked through in the bookstore, maybe once I sat down at a table where he had finished eating only minutes before. As children did we ever stand beside each other at the local ‘zoo’, watching as the guinea pigs ran around their concrete castle?

I thought I may have felt it once. A lonely teen, I sat in a cinema watching Godzilla, and as people started to file out at the end I thought to myself “he could be in this room” and I looked around wildly to see if he was. But then I laughed at myself saying “Here? There’s a whole world out there and you think that he’s here?” In a later conversation we worked it it is entirely possible that he could’ve been at that cinema, at that session, that day.

And it was at that very cinema where I noticed him, wearing a green jacket and looking beautiful, sitting next to a work friend at Pirates of the Caribbean. A lifetime had passed since Godzilla, I had moved away and back again, yet here I was, and here he was. We were not introduced that day, but I noticed him.

When we were properly introduced, it was the most exciting thing that had ever happened to me and at the same time the most familiar, easy feeling in the world. Since the very first moment we spoke to each other, we have been inseparable.

The rest, as they say, is history, only it’s not. It’s now, it’s still happening almost nine years later. I am still spending every day with this amazing, wonderful, beautiful person. Together we are raising two more beautiful souls. And everyday life, yes, it gets in the way sometimes, but that connection, that feeling, that knowing is still there. Soulmates.

Twenty-Eight years ago, my soulmate arrived in the world.

And for him I am eternally grateful.

Happy Birthday Joe. I love you.

Linking up with Kate at Katesaysstuff for Thankful Thursday.

Also linking up with Bron from Maxabella loves over at kidspot’s Village voices for 52 weeks of Grateful.

What are you grateful for? Link-up and share the love, sweet love – it’s what the world needs now.

50 responses to “Soulmates

  1. What a beautiful post:) Happy birthday to your man, hope he has a fantastic b’day!!!

  2. What a lovely post – you are so lucky to have met your soulmate and to still be so in love with each other 9 years down the track. I hope you have many more years together!

  3. What a lovely post ! I am with my soulmate as well although our meeting wasn’t anything like yours – we met at a baseball field. I thought his family were a bunch of stuck up snobs – we have been together since 1986 !!!
    Linking in from Kate with TT.
    Have a great day.
    Me

    • Thanks, baseball fields can be romantic then! How lovely to have been together since ’86, wow. 🙂

  4. Oh that was just lovely. I had goosebumps as I read it. I too am fortunate to be with my soul mate. I can still recall the first day I laid eyes upon him. It was in my early teens. It took some ten years though (and a bunch of toads) before my prince and I were actually together forever. Fairy wishes and butterfly kisses for a wonderful birthday for your wonderful mate

    • Thanks Rhianna, sometimes it does take a coupe of toads to make you appreciate the Prince even more 🙂 I will pass on your fwbk b’day wishes to him from you 🙂

  5. What a gorgeous post! I didn’t even manage to get a present for my hubby’s last birthday, such was the craziness around DPCON12 at the time. Happy belated birthday to your hubby 🙂

    My hubby and I moved to live in two different countries overseas just after we met, but we ended up back in Melbourne and have been together ever since.

    • Thanks Laney, I’m sure Crashhubby didn’t mind that you were partying up at DPCON on his b’day, you would have been uber-busy as the pre-drinks organiser! Sounds like you were meant to get together if living in two different countries couldn’t stop you 🙂

  6. Happy birthday to your soulmate and what a special birthday gift.

    Hubby and I learnt that we were going to the same gym and could of crossed paths many times. Sometimes events are meant to be!

    • I agree Penny sometime they are meant to be! Thanks for the birthday wishes, I’ll be sure to pass them on to my hubby.

  7. Beautiful post! Amazing that it was that very cinema that you did meet the person you were to spend the rest of your life with. Happy birthday to your beloved soulmate x

    • Thank you Grace, it is a bit amazing isn’t it? I will pass your birthday wishes on to him too. 🙂

  8. Two beautiful souls too, I’ll bet. I know at least one of you is!! Happy birthday to your ever loving man. I know him. I have one just like him. x

    • Thanks Bron, he is definitely a beautiful soul too. Aren’t we both very fortunate to have found our special someones? 🙂

    • It is amazing to think how many times our paths could have crossed! I always thought I’d have to search the world over for the right person – but he was so close the whole time!

  9. What a beautiful post and an awesome story of possible missed connections to be followed by actually connecting – happy birthday to joe and may you be blessed many more years together!

    • Thank you so much Debra. I have bought about the missed connections often and really enjoyed writing about it and sharing it. I will let Joe know you wished him a happy birthday. He may not know who you lovely ladies are, but he knows my blog is important to me, so he thinks it’s lovely of you (and many others) to send him birthday wishes.

  10. What a gorgeous GORGEOUS post! What you have with your soulmate is SO special. I’m so glad you KNOW it (like really know it) and that you cherish it. What a blessing he is to your life (and I’m sure you are to his). May you celebrate him well! xxx

    • Thank you Deb, he is rather special, and I am so grateful for what we have together 🙂

  11. Oh so cool & happy birthday to your beloved. I definitely had never crossed paths with my husband (born 4 years before me) but so glad we eventually met, when i was a teenager, then together forever more, love Posie

    • Thanks Posie, love hearing about people who have been together since their teens, childhood sweethearts 🙂

  12. That is the sweetest post I’ve read for a while, and it got me thinking about my hubby, how we met and our connection. So sweet to have that connection after all those years together, something that your children will really cherish too. Hope your man had a lovely birthday 🙂

    • Thank you Sam! What a lovely thing to say. I really want our children to grow up know how much their parents love each other. Joe had a really great birthday, thanks.

    • Thank you! I think this has been one of my favourite posts to write, straight from the heart. 🙂

  13. What a sweet post! It’s so natural and heartfelt. Happy birthday to him who is so lucky to have you for a soulmate.

    I wish I find my soulmate too 🙂

    • Thank you. I am sure you will find yours Pepper, probably when you least expect it!

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

