Done

Lula has gone seven days without a breastfeed, so I’m pretty confident that this is it.

Twenty months.

No more.

She is, and I am

done.

And I am grateful.

Grateful that it is over.

Grateful that I got to feed her, nurture her for so long.

But still,

oh my heart.

She is to be my last baby.

And she is a baby no more.

Linking up with Maxabella Loves over at Kidspot Village Voices for 52 Weeks of Grateful.

You should link up too because:Β 

1. Gratitude makes you feel great

2. It’s a party! Maxabella is celebrating 2 years of grateful this week

3. Just by linking up you get *two* entries in an awesome giveaway with $200 worth of goodies from rudy and the dodo up for grabs!

This week it’s more exciting than ever to be grateful.

18 responses to “Done

  1. I can relate to this SO much! I was grateful the night feeds were over but I didn’t want to say goodbye to breastfeeding and babyhood and the snuggles and the closeness. I still miss it now. Such a wonderful thing to be able to do. You’re so right to be grateful. I am too.

    • It is *so* nice not to have to worry about the night feeds. But just the thought that there are no more babies for me now, *sob*. πŸ™‚

  2. I imagine the mixed feelings you have right now. Sheer relief would be one – your body is your own again at last. Sadness too – your body is your own again, at last.

    It’s nice though!

    x

    • Yes, my body is all my own! Such a good feeling. Moving into a new phase! She’s still a snuggly one (much to my relief) so that’s good.

    • It got to the point where I knew it was time, and that she could handle the change too, and it all went smoothly. Thanks.

  3. Mine stopped at 24 months.I too was glad the time came but so so sad my baby was no more.Big understanding hugs.xx

  4. such a big point of transition from one way of life to another – i remember that reclaiming body feeling caught up with the baby has grown up feeling

    • I’m quite enjoying the reclaiming my body feeling – and I guess ‘the baby growing up’ feeling just keeps happening as they pass through different stages.

  5. Oh I can only imagine how this feels! Breastfeeding a little miss ten months and we both love it! And when it ends my heart will be hurting too I’m sure. Thanks for the reminder to cherish feeds with my little one that bit more x

    • It’s a very emotional time isn’t it, sounds like it’s the right time, and a new chapter just beginning πŸ™‚

      • That’s exactly how it feels Sam – a new chapter! And I am a tad emotional that the old chapter has ended.

    • I knew it was the right time Elisa, but it is still hard. But yes cherish those feeds! Such a special time.

  6. It’s one of those bittersweet moments! My bubs 8 months old while I’m not ready to stop now, I could certaintly go without the night feeds πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Jody. Definitely mixed feelings. But I am seeing the positives – and we are both sleeping better.

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

