Five

My beautiful little W,

Another year has flown by and I can hardly believe that you are now five.

Another year of fun, adventure, learning and growing.

Another year of changes.

The biggest change in your life this year was starting pre-school. We checked out your pre-school before Christmas and you talked about it all January. The day you started you were practically jumping out of your skin with excitement. In the afternoon we picked you up asking how it went. “I love it,” you told us simply, and you look forward to it each week.

You amaze your pre-school teacher (and us) with your reading ability. You love to read and it shows. Your favourites at the moment include Dr Seuss, Hairy McClary and Rhinos Don’t Eat Pancakes. You are also quite taken with a non-fiction book about insects titled Mini-Beasts. Just for the record, you explaining what a ‘chysalis’ is, is one of the cutest things I’ve ever heard.

You are still an avid gamer. At the moment you are completely absorbed in the phenomenon known as Skylanders, and as well as playing the game (and getting ‘upgrades mummy, look!’) you collect the Skylanders figures and know all their names and which element they belong to.

I love to watch you using your toys and figures in imaginative play. Just this morning as you played with your Lego I witnessed Deadpool take Magneto and Wolverine for ride in his helicopter to the shops, where he bought them all apples. “My favourite!” Wolverine declared.

You and your sister have already started venturing into sibling rivalry mode, with the occasional struggle over one toy or another. But your love for her is so incredibly beautiful to see, and the moments I catch you giving her a random hug or kiss on the head just make my heart explode into a million tiny pieces.

You get frustrated when you find you cannot do something, and you are much too quick to say “I can’t,”. Persist baby, keep trying. I know you can do it. I know you will do a great many things.

Despite your bouts of stroppiness where you stomp off to your bedroom declaring “Fine!” and acting like you don’t care, it is obvious that you do care. You care deeply. Especially about your family. You tell us that you love us all the time and you miss your Dad when he is at work.

The other night all four of us sat together on the one sofa. You looked at us, beaming. “We’re going to live here together forever,”you said. I snuggled you close. We may not all live together forever baby, but there will always be room for you on our sofa.

It feels like only yesterday that your dad and I drove to the hospital on a drizzly July day excited and terrified, knowing we would soon meet you. I clearly see the tiny particles of rain landing on our windscreen, being swiped away by windscreen wiper as I tried to comprehend the full reality of what was happening. We had waited and waited for you and now your arrival was imminent. What would you look like? What would you be like?

The answer to those questions would come ten hours later, and will continue to change and evolve as time marches on.

And at the same time the answer to those question will remain the same forever.

You are beautiful.

Happy birthday my little man.

I love you.

Love, Mum xx

8 responses to “Five

    • I agree. I think children have such cute ‘accents’ when it comes to the tricky words 🙂

  1. “Persist baby, keep trying. I know you can do it. I know you will do a great many things.” – I loved this line.
    Wishing your little man a very special birthday! x

    • Thanks Grace, he had a great day. I just seriously can’t believe my first baby is five!

  2. What a gorgeous soul he is. Happy (belated) birthday to your little man. I can imagine that 5 is a glorious age. Old enough to be independent, yet young enough to still be a little boy. I love the “We’re going to live here together forever” line. 🙂

    • He is a gorgeous soul Deb, thanks. I am achingly aware that his ‘little boy’ time is limited and am trying to remember to make the most of it. 5 is a lovely age so far 🙂

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

