Hit me with your sweet sweet Poetry

 

I am “guest prompting” over on Kat’s blog for Blogtoberfest today.

Head on over and check it out.

If you want to follow the prompt on your blog fantastic – I look forward to seeing what you post.

If you just want to answer the call in the comments here or over at Kat’s then that is fine also.

Thanks for having me Kat!

And responding to my own prompt here is one of my favourites;

THE GREAT HUNT by Carl Sandburg

I CANNOT tell you now;
When the wind’s drive and whirl
Blow me along no longer,
And the wind’s a whisper at last–
Maybe I’ll tell you then–
some other time.

     When the rose’s flash to the sunset
Reels to the rack and the twist,
And the rose is a red bygone,
When the face I love is going
And the gate to the end shall clang,
And it’s no use to beckon or say, “So long”–
Maybe I’ll tell you then–
some other time.

I never knew any more beautiful than you:
I have hunted you under my thoughts,
I have broken down under the wind
And into the roses looking for you.
I shall never find any
greater than you.

[Oh. Always leaves me speechless that one.]

[If you want more Carl Sandburg goodness head this way.]

[If you want to read more about my Poetry Love I wrote about it here.]

Day Eight of Blogtoberfest.

(Come join in)

4 responses to “Hit me with your sweet sweet Poetry

  1. That is an astonishingly beautiful poem.
    I hate to admit that I have never heard of Carl Sandburg, I used to read a lot of poetry, but don’t seem to anymore, not sure why.
    Anyway thankyou for introducing me to him : )

    • Yes I knew you were a poetry lover! It is one of my all time favourite poems, and that is saying something. I still remember where and when I ‘discovered’ it, years ago, in vivid detail. That line is sublime, truly.

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

