What I have learned in 2012

r2d2

I have learned;

That the rug can be pulled out from under you when you least expect,

and you might be falling for a while,

in fact you may not know when the fall will be over.

 

I have learned;

To appreciate little victories,

to store little moments in my heart,

for I will need them to turn to when things are hard.

 

I have learned;

There can be joy during the hard times

and there can be sadness during times of celebration,

that the two can exist together,

in the same year,

the same month,

the same week,

the same day,

sometimes

in the same moment.

 

I have learned;

That is life.

Hard,

and beautiful,

and absurd.

All at once.

This post is in response to a prompt from #reverb12

over at Kat’s blog I Saw You Dancing.

Click through and check it out!

17 responses to “What I have learned in 2012

  1. Alana! You write with such insight and with a beautiful poetic touch. I’m so sorry you’ve experienced sadness this year… and I hope next year is full of more joys. xx

    • Thanks. I am sure I will learn and relearn this many times throughout my life. As long as I can hold on to those joyful bits I think I’ll survive. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Tracey, some of those little things really do turn out to big the big things don’t they? Gotta keep reminding myself of that. πŸ™‚

  2. This is a beautiful post.
    It is incredible how life can throw us those moments of both joy and sadness. Wishing you happy days ahead x

  3. This is beautifully written, Alana. Deb said it above so well. I haven’t even begun to reflect on what I’ve learnt this year though maybe it’s a good time to start by reflecting for the whole month. I recall #reverb12 from last year’s version. Glad I found your post via FYBF.
    P.S: You’ve a very eclectic blog roll!

    • Thanks Veronica. I feel like the year has gone so fast I need to make time to reflect because I was so busy as they happened I didn’t really ‘process’ some of it. My blog roll is eclectic – I hadn’t really thought of that before! But then again so is my music collection, book collection, movie collection, brain… πŸ˜‰ Thanks for all the comment love xx

  4. Lovely post….I hope you have all your wishes and hopes fulfilled in 2013 …there will still be the ups and downs though. xxx

  5. You write so beautifully Alana. I think we have the hard times to learn from them, always something good comes of something bad if we look hard enough. I love that you’ve found joy when things are tough! You’re stronger than you think xx

    • Thank you so much Elisa. I think I need to believe in my own strength a bit more. πŸ™‚

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

