Cultivating Gratitude

LimeLanePhotography_mellowyellow_600px
Image from © Lime Lane Photography

Gratitude.

When the little (and big!) stresses of everyday life start to come at me, it is easy to lose sight of one important fact;

I have so much to be grateful for.

I have been cultivating gratitude in my own life for the past two years and I aim to continue to do so throughout 2013.

It is such a simple practice and it really makes such a difference; to my mood, my outlook, my life.

It can be as simple as acknowledging your gratitude internally.

Just appreciating a moment, a sight, a person.

Taking a second just to be thankful for them in your heart.

Or you can express your gratitude externally;

A personal notebook to jot down all you are grateful for.

A thank you note to someone you appreciate.

A tweet, a status update on Facebook, a blog post.

Tell someone in person how grateful you are that they are in your life.

Share your gratitude and watch all that you have to be grateful for, grow.

It’s a special kind of magic.

Join in with other grateful people.

Watch the gratitude spread thoughout your life, throughout the universe.

Feel it growing in your heart, making your eyes shine, making your world shine.

Smile.

And be grateful.

Are you a believer in gratitude? How do you cultivate gratitude in your life?

For ideas on finding gratitude online see my next post here.

For a lovely community of gratitude seekers and sharers click here.

13 responses to “Cultivating Gratitude

  1. Pingback: 5 easy ways to find gratitude online | Happylan·

  2. I love the thought of sending someone a note to let them know you appreciate them. That would be so lovely out of the blue.
    Lisa x

    • I’m considering taking that one on as weekly project! So many people out there I’d love to thank for being who they are and being in my life 🙂

  3. Beautiful Alana. I agree with your words – grateful is thankful in your heart. Since joining the 52 Weeks of Grateful, I’ve been more conscious of speaking my gratitude, as well as writing it down. Makes such a beautiful difference xx

    • Thanks. I’m trying to speak it more too Elisa, it’s amazing what an impact it has on people to hear that someone is grateful for them and what they are doing. xx

  4. Pingback: A New Year of Gratitude | onbeingmindful·

  5. This is a lovely post.
    I am a big “living in the attitude of gratitude” person. When I start with new clients the first thing I encourage them to do is create a Book of Joy (which is essentially a Gratitude Journal with a few extra bits included). We also have a Gratitude Box at home. I might blog about that next week.
    Good thinking!
    Happy Saturday 🙂
    Leanne @ Deep Fried Fruit

    • I would love to hear more about this ‘gratitude box’ Leanne. Happy Saturday to you also xx

    • It is magic! Glad to have your link up to turn to a spread the gratitude further & share in others gratefuls too.

  6. Pingback: A little moment to hold on to | Dare to live, feel, think and dream·

  7. Pingback: Having an Attitude of Gratitude « Getting Better, Man·

  8. Pingback: Speaking of Gratitude – This is the place to share yours!·

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.

