At Home

window coffee

At Home

 

The window is half open

The glass is dirty

There is a crack which

lets in the cold even when the window is closed

and I know there’s no avoiding this now.

 

I travelled and though I did not got far

I saw things

Things that made me realise

things that made me.

 

I saw

a different world

a different future

all through the pane of a different window

 

it was not cracked

it was clear

it was clean

 

but it was not home.

I’m sharing this poem with you today as I’ve been a bit inspired by the wonderful poetry (both known and undiscovered) floating around the web for National Poetry Month in the US and NaPoWriMo.

If you’re a poet at heart you might like to check out some of these:

Mrs Mediocrity has written a poem a day for April and she is simply brilliant.

Samantha Reynolds shares daily poetry and inspiration at Bentlily.

Awesome tumblrs like Poetry Bomb where I discovered this poem.

And here are 6 Amazing Last-Minute Ways to Celebrate National Poetry Month via Blogher.

So, are you a fan of poetry?

Where do you feel most at home?

How often do you clean your windows?

 

Linking up with Essentially Jess for I Blog on Tuesdays. Click on the cute duck for more great Tuesday reading:

19 responses to “At Home

  1. I am lucky to have two places that feel just like home to me, my home town and where we live. I don’t read alot of poetry anymore, but I used to be awesome at memorising it at school. Lovely poem. #teamIBOT

    • Oh that is lovely that you have two places that feel like home. My hometown makes me feel a bit depressed when I visit it! I also loved memorising poems at school so I could use huge quotes in essays. 🙂

  2. I don’t remember the last time I cleaned my windows! I really do feel at home most in my own little abode, we have been here for 10 years and I can’t imagine living anywhere else

    • Thanks Deb xxxx
      And do check out the links, there’s some good stuff there. 🙂

    • I hope you get a chance to have a look at some of the sites I’ve linked then Jess, some great poetry on those sites! Maybe you should try writing some again – you might find you love writing it as much as reading it.

    • Thanks Lisa, and neither do I!! Just one of those ‘ when I get around to it’ jobs!

  3. Oh, wow, Alana! That was just amazing!! I’m a big fan of poetry too but just don’t spend enough time reading it. Keep up your fabulous talent!

  4. It’s remarkablke tto pay a quick visit this site and reading the views of all friends concerning this paragraph, while
    I am also zealous of gettin know-how.

Would you like to leave a comment? Why, thank you! Please add your comment here.